ACT For PEACE Manifesto

May 22, 2016

We are teachers, student-teachers, education sector workers, researchers, professors, peace advocates, and concerned citizens – inspired by President-elect Rodrigo Duterte’s and Communist Party of the Philippines (CPP) leader Jose Maria Sison’s laudable peace overtures – hereby reiterate our call to ACT for the achievement of lasting peace in our country and the world through social justice.

We laud President-elect Duterte for promising to immediately restart peace negotiations with the Communist Party of the Philippines-New People’s Army-National Democratic Front of the Philippines (CPP-NPA-NDFP), release political prisoners, allot at least 4 important cabinet posts – namely the Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE), Department of Agrarian Reform (DAR), and float the possibility of a general amnesty for insurgents, all in the name of lasting peace.

We also laud CPP-NPA-NDFP for responding positively to Duterte’s pronouncements, through immediately sending its emissary to the president-elect’s temporary office in Davao City, promising to name their preferred individuals for the abovementioned cabinet posts, and emphasizing that peace can only be completely achieved if comprehensive agreements on social and economic reforms will be reached towards a government that genuinely serves the welfare of the Filipino people.

Within this context, we urge everyone to:

1. Support the snowballing calls for the immediate resumption of formal peace talks between the Government of the Republic of the Philippines (GPH) and CPP-NPA-NDFP, based on honoring previous pacts and arriving at new and hopefully final agreements on comprehensive social and economic reforms that address the root causes of insurgency.

2. Encourage the president-elect to immediately fulfill his promise to release all political detainees.

3. Support the president-elect’s decision to allot Cabinet posts to progressive/left-wing nominees towards a possible tactical alliance of all progressive and patriotic forces aimed at achieving just and lasting peace, protecting national freedom and defending national sovereignty, and establishing an economic system that will eradicate poverty and provide social development to all sectors.

4. Reject the anti-peace propaganda of right-wing elements, imperialist agents, opportunists and sundry evil forces who want to thwart current endeavors for peace and justice in the Philippines.

5. Organize/sponsor peace forums in schools, universities, churches, communities and other venues to discuss ideas and perspectives on important social and economic reforms that will address the root causes of insurgency in the Philippines.

6. Produce and/or disseminate educational modules on peace initiatives and socio-economic reforms that address the root causes of insurgency.

7. Carry on with current cultural campaign for peace through peace-themed concerts, poetry-reading and –writing activities, art installations and the like.

8. Reach out to all patriotic, progressive and peace-building elements in the academe, media, churches etc. to broaden existing support networks for peace and justice in our archipelago.

9. Disseminate and sign this manifesto for peace and encourage others to do the same.

Promising to collectively work for the achievement of immediate and lasting peace through justice in our country, we hereby sign this manifesto for peace.

Dr. Bienvenido Lumbera, UP Diliman, National Artist
Congressman Antonio Tinio, Representative-Elect, ACT Teachers Party List
Congresswoman Francisca Castro, Representative-Elect, ACT Teachers Party List
Dr. Maragtas SV. Amante, Vice President for Administration, UP Diliman
Dr. Rowie Madula, Vice Chairperson, Filipino Department, Chairperson, ACT for Peace, De La Salle University
Dr. Gilda Felipe San Gabriel, Director, Center for Human Rights and Gender Studies, Polytechnic University of the Philippines
Dr. Ramon Guillermo, President, All UP Academic Union, University of the Philippines Diliman
Mr. Benjamin Valbuena, Chairperson, Alliance of Concerned Teachers, F.G.Calderon High School
Dr. Francis Gealogo, Ateneo de Manila University
Dr. David Michael San Juan, De La Salle University Taft, Manila
Dr. Priscilla Ampuan, President, Quezon City Public School Teachers Association
Mr. Louie Zabala, President, Manila Public School Teachers Association
Prof. Cleve Arguelles, University of the Philippines, Manila
Prof. Emmanuel A. Leyco, President of Asian Institute of Management Faculty Union
Prof. Felix Muga, Ateneo de Manila, Center for People Empowerment in Governance
Prof. Sarah Raymundo, University of the Philippines Diliman
Prof. Ma. Lourdes Agustin, Philippine Normal University
Prof. Victor Rey Fumar, Philippine Normal University
Prof. Joel Costa Malabanan, Philippine Normal University
Prof. Carl Marc Ramota, President, All Up Workers Union,University of the Philippines Manila
Prof. Ramir Cruz, Vice-President, Polytechnic University of the Philippines Federated Faculty, Inc.
Prof. Marvin Lai, Chairperson Filipino Department, Polytechnic University of the Philippines
Prof. Iris Trambulo, Technological University of the Philippines
Prof. Adrian Romero, University of Sto. Tomas
Prof. Jonathan Geronimo, University of Sto. Tomas
Prof. Mark Benedict F. Lim, Ateneo de Manila University
Prof. Edwin Don Padrilanan, Adamson University
Prof. Tessa Trazona, Mapua Institute of Technology
Prof. Nelson Ramirez, University of the East
Prof. Roger Ramos, Eulogio A. Rodriguez Institute of Science and Technology
Mr. Rosalio Ayque, President, Caloocan Federation of Public School Teachers
Mr. Wilmore Moredo, Principal, Benigno Aquino High School, Makati City
Mr. Isaac Ali Tapar – President, Manila Science High School Faculty Association
Bryan Lim Madrid Corpuz – Vice-President, Philippine Normal University Student Government, ACT-Education Students
John Timothy Romero – Editor In Chief, The Torch Publications, Philippine Normal University, ACT-Education Students